Missouri Interscholastic Press Association

Administrator of the Year

MIPA strives to honor administrators who support journalism in our schools. To recognize an administrator who has provided outstanding service to journalism, a teacher can nominate him or her.

For example, an administrator might have helped build a strong journalism program or defended the program from criticism. The administrator might have fought battles for the school press, student press freedom, or may have provided exceptional or out-of-the ordinary resources for the program.

The winning administrator will be encouraged to present a short acceptance speech at the spring Journalism Day on the MU campus.

The components of the Missouri AOY process align with those of the national JEA AOY process.

The nominating teacher should submit an application including a letter of nomination and supporting materials to the judge and the MIPA office using the online submission form by deadline:

  • Application: Administrator of the Year
    • In the letter of nomination, please explain the kind of support given and ensure the reason for your nomination is clear.
    • Please download and complete the PDF application and upload to the submission form
  • The nominating teacher may choose to add optional* supporting documents, which would help the judge make a decision:
    • Current photo
    • Up to three additional one-page letters of support
    • A one-page resume of the nominee
    • Copies of articles or links to articles about or by the nominee (limit four pages)
    • Please scan and upload as .PDF or .JPG files to the submission form

* The optional supporting materials are required at the national level, but not for the state level.

SUBMIT ALL MATERIALS using our Online Submission Form

DEADLINE: Friday, Feb. 16, 2018

2018 JUDGE: Byron T ScottProfessor Emeritus, Director Emeritus, European Union Center: came to Missouri in 1986 to take its first endowed chair, the Meredith Chair in Service Journalism, which he relinquished 10 years later to concentrate on international journalism. A veteran newspaper reporter and magazine writer and editor in five different American cities, he also has worked as a teacher and journalist in more than 40 different countries. He was the school’s international programs coordinator, 1994-2001. His research and teaching interests include the role of the media in transitional societies, international investigative reporting and cognitive processes in writing. He previously headed the magazine sequence at the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism at Ohio University. As an emeritus faculty member, Scott continues to consult, write and work with graduate students.

2018 Sponsor: Balfour Yearbooks

QUESTIONS: If you have questions about the process, please contact the MIPA office at [email protected]573-882-6031.

Past state honorees include:

  • 1970 Armin H. Bueker, Superintendent, Marshall
  • 1971 W. L. Bowden, Principal, North Kirkwood High School, Kirkwood
  • 1972 Marvin E. Fleming, Principal, Jefferson City Senior High School, Jefferson City
  • 1973 Hal Johnson, Superintendent, Adrian Public Schools, Adrian
  • 1974 LeRoy Brown, Principal, Truman High School, Independence
  • 1975 Walter Bruens, Superintendent, Harrisonville Public Schools, Harrisonville
  • 1976 Bud Routh, Principal, Camdenton High School, Camdenton
  • 1977 William G. McCrary, Principal, Grandview High School, Grandview
  • 1978 Donald Duchek, Principal, Kirkwood High School, Kirkwood
  • 1979 Dr. Robert Blaine, Principal, Blue Springs High School, Blue Springs
  • 1980 H. Mitchell Hanna, Principal, Maryville High School, Maryville
  • 1981 Dahlman J. Davis, Principal, Odessa High School and Thomas Herrick, Principal, William Chrisman High School, Independence
  • 1982 Donald Shull, Superintendent, Raymore-Peculiar Public Schools, Peculiar
  • 1983 Dean Collopy, Principal, Center High School, Kansas City
  • 1984 Dr. Gary Chesley, Assistant Principal, Parkway Central High School, Chesterfield
  • 1985 William Gist, Principal, Hillcrest High School, Springfield
  • 1986 William McCrary, Larry Downing and Keith Tempel, Grandview High School, Grandview
  • 1987 R.C. Ramsey, Principal, Savannah High School, Savannah
  • 1988 Ed Ferguson, Superintendent, Mexico Public Schools, Mexico
  • 1989 Franklin McCallie, Principal, Kirkwood High School, Kirkwood
  • 1990 Dr. Clark Cilek, Principal, St. Charles West High School, St. Charles
  • 1991 Dr. Larry Humphries, Francis Howell North High School, St. Charles, and Principal Dr. Thomas Keating, Kirkwood R-7 Schools, Superintendent
  • 1992 Dr. John Laurie, Principal, Hillcrest High School, Springfield
  • 1993 Molly J. Clemons, Vice Principal, Truman High School, Independence
  • 1994 Robert Perry, Superintendent, Mansfield School District, Mansfield
  • 1996 Terry Salfan, Associate Principal, Hazelwood Central High School, Florissant
  • 1997 Don Hugo, Principal, Clayton High School, St. Louis
  • 1998 Dr. Robert Watkins, Superintendent, Independence School District, Independence
  • 1999 Gary Drummond, Principal, Rockwood Summit School District, Fenton
  • 2000 Bennie Cain, Principal, Oak Park High School, Kansas City
  • 2001 Dr. Richard Pemberton, Principal, Jefferson City High School, Jefferson City
  • 2002 Dr. Don Senti, District Superintendent, Clayton High School, St. Louis; and Joe Petrich, Principal, Waynesville Middle School, Waynesville
  • 2003 Dwight Jones, Principal, Boonville High School, Boonville
  • 2005 David Laughlin, Rockhurst High School, Kansas City
  • 2006 Dr. Phil Wright, Liberty High School, Liberty
  • 2007 Dr. Darlene Jones, Principal, Francis Howell North High School, St. Charles
  • 2008 Dr. Kathy Ritter, Principal, Rock Bridge High School, Columbia
  • 2009 Dr. Keith Shahan, Headmaster, John Burroughs School, St. Louis
  • 2010 Dr. Fred Skretta, Principal, Oak Park High School, Kansas City
  • 2011 Dr. David Holley, Kirkwood High School, Kirkwood
  • 2012 Dr. Chris Greiner, Francis Howell High School, St. Charles
  • 2013 Dr. John Faulkenberry, Lee’s Summit High School, Lee’s Summit
  • 2015 Dr. Todd White, Superintendent of North Kansas City Schools, Kansas City
  • 2016 Chris Kilbride, Superintendent of Ritenour Schools, Ritenour
  • 2017 Clark Mershon, Principal, Staley High School, Kansas City

Past national honorees include:

  • 1971 William L. Bowden, Kirkwood Junior High School, Kirkwood
  • 1999 Franklin McCallie, Kirkwood High School, Kirkwood


The Student News Site of Missouri Interscholastic Press Association
Administrator of the Year