J-Day 2017 Awards now available

MIPA is so happy to honor nearly 1,100 state winners in Overall and Individual contests this year.

A complete list of winners is available at: https://mipajournalism.com/j-day-awards-lists/

We would like to thank our nearly 80 judges who reviewed the roughly 1,800 entries this year. Judges range from journalism teachers and professors to professional journalists from across the country.

Alicia Archuleta photojournalist, journalism teacher, yearbook sponsor
Amanda Wood owner/photographer at Dphotography
Amanda Krenos graphic designer at KCPT – Kansas City PBS
Amanda Reynolds consumer marketing manager, Balfour Yearbooks and former yearbook rep
Ann Visser retired adviser, Pella Community Schools, JEA mentor, NSPA board member
Annie Sidesinger art director
Bethany Drobeck former yearbook adviser
Bill Book adjunct faculty, Missouri School of Journalism
Brett Laxton UPI photographer/chief photographer The Kansas City Kansan
Brian Eriksen teacher, adviser, radio broadcaster
Brooke Rhoads online editor-in-chief
Cal Butcher director, Media Crossroads and Faculty, William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications at the University of Kansas
Chris Brown newspaper photojournalist
Christina Unger commercial photographer/owner/designer Unger Photographic Designs
Christy Jung broadcasting journalism professor, HLGU
Cindy Carey English teacher/journalism mentor
Daniel Jones MU men’s basketball reporter, Columbia Daily Tribune
Diane Davis editor, Missouri School Boards’ Association
Elizabeth Whittington Upper School humanities teacher and advised yearbook and newspaper
Erin Coggins journalism teacher (newspaper, yearbook, online)
Felicia Rateliff freelance PR/marketing/writer
Homer Hall retired journalism teacher
Jack Kennedy executive director, Colorado Student Media Association
Jamie Greber assistant professor and managing editor
Jason Offutt senior instructor
Jeanne Abbott associate professor, MU School of Journalism; managing editor, Missourian
Jeanne Miller Wood photo editor
Jennifer Nelson senior information specialist – Reynolds Journalism Institute, former news editor of Osceola (Iowa) Sentinel-Tribune
Jill Cowburn journalism teacher
Jill Flanagan teacher
Jim Brochin journalism teacher/newspaper advisor
John Baccala communications director- NHSD- City of Kansas City, Missouri
Jonah McKeown videographer
Julia Copeland education specialist at Balfour Yearbooks; 25-year yearbook and newspaper adviser and photojournalism teacher
Julianne McClain teacher
Justin A. Cobb staff writer, Campbell Publications
Karen Black retired newspaper adviser
Kathy Allen former adviser
Katie Purnell senior interaction designer
Kevin Young digital editor, NBC Dallas
Kia Breaux Midwest Regional Director, The Associated Press
Kimberlee Ried Public Affairs/Programs Specialist
Kristy Ladd Culp brand manager, Girl Scouts of NE Kansas & NW Missouri
Kristy Nyp high school journalism teacher
Kyle Quick news website manager for Radio News Station KLPW
LeAnne Wiseman retired ASNE
Leland Mallett publications adviser
Linda Drake journalism/graphic arts instructor, publications adviser – Chase County Jr.-Sr. H S
Louisa Avery teacher/newspaper adviser
Lucas McCain Jostens sales representative
Martin Keller former publisher/advertising editor for Mexico Ledger
Mary Patrick yearbook adviser at Maize South Middle School; workshop speaker/director
Michael Rennaker broadcasting
Michelle Peters journalism teacher
Minerva Howard retired journalism teacher
Molly Baker Herff Jones sales representative
Nick Carey operations for minor league baseball
Nicolette Martin editorial manager and layout designer at Lifestyle Publications
Paige Kesler Lifetouch yearbook customer service
Petre Thomas Ole Miss Athletics photographer
Randy Raley advertising director, on air personality
Russell Hill high school journalism adviser
Shane Epping affiliate graduate faculty member, School of Journalism
Shannon Rennaker former newsmagazine adviser
Shari Adwers adviser, North Pointe newspaper, NorthPointeNow.org, Valhalla yearbook
Sharon Koontz owner/artist Color Me Bleu studio
Stacey Woelfel associate professor and director of the Jonathan B. Murray Center for Documentary Journalism; former news director of KOMU-TV
Stan Zoller, MJE lecturer / journalism — Lake Forest College, Lake Forest, Ill. and president, Chicago Headline Club
Sue Brimer-Jones special education process coordinator
Susan Tantillo adjunct at Kent State University teaching reporting for mass media (online)
Tanya Katnic journalism and yearbook adviser
Thomas E. Winski assistant professor of journalism
Tiger Rotenberger owner, tioptic photo arts
Tracy Tuley Walsworth sales representative
Trevor Hayes broadcast associate at FOX Sports
Trevor Ivan teacher, former grad assistant at Kent State Center for Scholastic Journalism, former NSPA contest coordinator
Whitney Baker Balfour yearbook representative and former yearbook/newspaper adviser