The Official Site of the Missouri Interscholastic Journalism Association


The Official Site of the Missouri Interscholastic Journalism Association


The Official Site of the Missouri Interscholastic Journalism Association


MIPA names Burgett the Missouri Journalism Teacher of the Year

MIPA names Cherie’ Burgett of Staley High School as the 2016 Missouri Journalism Teacher of the Year. Cherie Burgett

For 45 years, MIPA has honored outstanding journalism teachers with the state Journalism Teacher of the Year program. MIPA wishes to honor outstanding high school advisers and their exemplary work throughout their careers.

In her ninth year as a journalism educator, Burgett advises award-winning print and online journalism programs at Staley. She advises the Legacy yearbook, Talon newsmagazine and online publications. In addition, she teaches the Journalism 1 and Journalism 1 Photography intro courses.

Prior to enrollment growing too large for just one journalism teacher, she also taught Journalism 1 Broadcast and advised the STTV broadcast program for several years.

In the judge’s comments about why she chose Burgett for this honor, she wrote, “Her passion and dedication — for her students and journalism, equally — practically leaped from every page of her application. In addition to her heavy class load, it is obvious this compassionate educator dedicates an inordinate amount of time mentoring students and providing a solid foundation for their future as journalists, if that is their choice, or simply being informed citizens in an increasingly global village. I was impressed by her quest to educate herself along with her students. Ms. Burgett is helping her students grow into the next phase of journalism by broadening into social media and looking ahead to a digital future. The products were all top-notch, but the truly incredible, over-the-top amazing publication was the yearbook. The page design was beyond compare.”

Burgett will be recognized as the Missouri Journalism Teacher of the Year during the annual Journalism Day on Wednesday, April 6, at the University of Missouri-Columbia. She will be given a plaque and a cash prize on stage in the awards ceremony, as well as be given time for a short acceptance speech.

This year’s sponsors donated:

Other 2016 JTOY nominees included:

  • Benjamin Merithew of Fort Osage High School, Independence
  • Jason Stacy of William Chrisman High School, Independence

For more information on the award, please read here.

Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

All Missouri Interscholastic Journalism Association Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *