Three apply to be the next Student Journalist of the Year

Three seniors have applied to become the 2017 MIPA Student Journalist of the Year. The candidates include:

  • Alexis White, Rockwood Summit High School, Fenton
  • Bennett Durando, Webster Groves High School, St. Louis
  • Rachel Adamson, Winnetonka High School, Kansas City

Their portfolios of work and supporting materials have been sent to the judge, who will have a decision by the end of the month.

This year, sponsors have pledged $1100 to the MIPA SJOY winner.

The MIPA winner and other candidates are encouraged to use the judge’s comments to help them push their portfolio to the next level in the Missouri SJOY contest, due Feb. 8, 2017. If you have or you are a student who did not enter MIPA’s SJOY, you can still send the first draft of your portfolio to the state contest. The Missouri SJOY determines which student moves on to the national level.